Pattern process

Good morning!

The painters are in and giving our walls a new lick of paint. I can’t wait to show you how things are looking here at Inspiration Station. There has been a lot of behind the scenes action and now things are really beginning to kick off. It is very exciting to see months of talking turn into action.

Today I just wanted to share something I have been working on for our cozy room. Ah! The cozy room!! This room will be for chilling out and relaxing, talking over your projects and sharing ideas. We have big comfy couches to recline on in a yummy chocolate colour and the walls are currently being painted tones of pale turquoise. It all reminds me of chocolate chip ice-cream.

For this room I wanted to create a feature wall with a beautiful paint decoration technique I have seen. Using the same or similar tone of colour you paint designs in a contrasting texture, in our case gloss against matt paint. It creates a subtle but very effective design. Examples I have seen use everything from ornate fleur de lis to funky geometric shapes. I was wanting to use something that reflected our Inspiration Station brand.

 

So, here is what I have come up with:

waldecal copy

How did I create this design? Using our logo as a starting point I simply played around with reflecting and rotating the initials of ‘Inspiration Station’. I have used Adobe Illustrator but any software will do. Even the humble pencil and a piece of tracing paper will do the trick.

walldecaldev copy

Next step is to create a stencil out of card so I can trace the design onto the wall. Then I will paint it all using a slightly darker toned gloss. I will share pictures as soon as it is done!

2 thoughts on “Pattern process

Leave a Reply

